New Lanark World Heritage Site Blog

history

25/01/17 CAVLP # , , , ,

Frame the landscape with CAVLP Heritage

Frame the landscape with CAVLP Heritage

Guest post from Clyde and Avon Valley Landscape Partnership

The Clyde and Avon Valley has long been a destination for visitors, including esteemed artists and writers such as J. M. W. Turner, the Wordsworths and Sir Walter Scott.

Known for its patchwork of nationally important woodlands and stunning geological formations, crumbling castles and orchard heritage, the area has fired the imagination of visitors throughout the ages.

CAVLP Heritage are now offering a unique way to explore the landscape through the eyes of artists, writers, photographers and film-makers by way of a series of six FREE Framing the Landscape walks where paintings, photos, films and literature will be used to see the landscape in new ways.

Taking place every Saturday at 2pm, from 11 February up to and including 19 March, the walks will offer a tantalizing look at figures that have been inspired by the landscape or have made an impact on it in some way. Think Sir Walter Scott and Craignethan Castle, J. M. W. Turner at the Falls of Clyde and even Scott’s Jam Works at Carluke.

These events will form part of a larger project called Local Landscape Heroes which is focusing on the people who historically changed and maintained the character of the historic environment and landscape and those that have been inspired by it.

People of all ages and backgrounds are invited to take part in this programme of exploratory walks throughout the Clyde and Avon Valley.  The events will be led by experienced archaeologists from CAVLP Heritage who will be on hand to offer expert insight into areas at Chatelherault, Lanark, Wishaw, Craignethan Castle, Falls of Clyde and New Lanark, and Carluke.

There are 6 different walks to choose from. Each takes around two hours and is FREE although booking is essential at www.cavlp.eventbrite.co.uk. Participants are encouraged to attend as many as they like.

Saturday 11 February: Inspired by the Oaks – Scenery Stroll at Chatelherault: Join the team at Chatelherault to explore artwork inspired by the Avon Water and Cadzow Oaks.  Learn about the painters including Alexander Fraser and Simon Bough, who were inspired by the natural beauty of the Avon Valley landscape.

Saturday 18 February: Country Makers – Worthy Wander in Lanark: Explore the historical figures who helped to shape the town of Lanark through its early days, including William Wallace, David I, William the Lion and Robert Forrest. Visit sites of local importance to Lanark and explore the artistic representations of the deeds of past country-makers.

Saturday 25 February: Wishaw on Film – Snapshot Saunter in Wishaw: Explore how Wishaw has been represented on film and visit some of the sites featured in old photographs and films. Learn about the lives of local photographers and filmmakers such as Charles Reid and Enrico Cocozza, and how they were inspired by their local landscape.

Saturday 4 March: Inspired by the Castle: Poetic Promenade at Craignethan: Join us on a journey from the Clyde Valley up to Craignethan Castle and enjoy the literature of local and visiting writers such as Sir Walter Scott and Janet Hamilton, who were inspired by the landscape and the castle.

Saturday 11 March: Inspired by the Falls – Representation Ramble at New Lanark: Take a look at the art and literature inspired by the Falls of Clyde and New Lanark, and learn about ­the artists such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge and J. M. W. Turner who created it.

Saturday 18 March: Strawberry Fields – Jelly Jaunt in Carluke: Celebrate the achievements of the Scott brothers in starting the strawberry growing industry in the Clyde and Avon Valley, and the long heritage of preserve making that continues today. Take a look at old photographs that help to tell their story and the story of fruit growing in the Carluke area.

Karen McCusker, CAVLP Heritage Project Assistant, says: “This is a great opportunity to get to know a little bit more about the local people who have shaped the Clyde and Avon Valley that we know and love today, in a fun and unexpected way.”

The walks are part of the Local Landscape Heroes project which celebrates the people that have shaped and been inspired the Clyde and Avon Valley, from farmers to millers and poets to painters. The project is managed by Northlight Heritage with funding from Heritage Lottery Fund supported Clyde and Avon Valley Landscape Partnership and Historic Environment Scotland.

Volunteers can also join CAVLP Heritage in researching Local Landscape Heroes of the Clyde and Avon Valley in Hamilton Town House Archives every Thursday up to and including 30 March, between 11am – 7pm.

If you would like to get involved, or would love to know more, please get in touch with CAVLP Heritage at [email protected] or 01555 661 555. Booking is necessary in order to take part and can be done through e-mail.

0 likes no responses
18/01/17 New Lanark World Heritage Site # , , , , ,

Days out in Scotland for History Buffs

Days out in Scotland for History Buffs

Are you a self proclaimed history buff? Scotland is the place for you to be! From castles on (almost) every corner, and lochs strewn across the land – our country is packed full of fascinating historical locations which make for a great day out.

As if you needed another reason to get exploring, 2017 has been designated as the ‘Year of History, Heritage & Archaeology’ by Visit Scotland! If you need some inspiration, below are some of our favourite suggestions for ‘historic’ days out in Scotland. Many of these locations are around 1 hour from New Lanark, making the New Lanark Hotel or Wee Row Hostel a perfect base to explore from if you’re planning a holiday to Scotland.

 

 

New Lanark World Heritage Site

Visit New Lanark Mills to discover one of Scotland’s 6 UNESCO World Heritage Sites of ‘outstanding universal importance’. Explore the stunning woodland surroundings and see the famous Falls of Clyde waterfalls. Experience over 200 years of social history and industrial heritage.

Find out more about visiting at www.newlanark.org

New Lanark World Heritage Site

 

 

Scottish Fisheries Museum (2 hours from New Lanark)

“In a spectacular location opposite the harbour in the fishing village of Anstruther, in the East Neuk of Fife, we are a National Museum, telling the story of the Scottish fishing industry, its boats, harbours and communities.”

Find out more about visiting at www.scotfishmuseum.org

 

Glasgow Cathedral (50 minutes from New Lanark)

The first stone built Glasgow Cathedral was dedicated in the presence of King David I in 1136. The present building was consecrated in 1197. Since that same period the Cathedral has never been unroofed and the worship of God has been carried out within its walls for more than 800 years.

The splendid achievements of the architects and builders of those far off days can be studied and admired. Not everything, however, is old and the Cathedral has one of the finest post-war collections of stained glass windows to be found in Britain.

Find out more about visiting at www.glasgowcathedral.org

 

National Mining Museum (1 hour from New Lanark)

“The museum provides a great day out for all ages! We’re based at one of the finest surviving examples of a Victorian colliery in Europe, the Lady Victoria Colliery at Newtongrange, just nine miles south of Edinburgh. Visitors to the museum will marvel at the sheer size of the place, be astounded by the engineering brilliance behind all the machinery and retrace the footsteps and struggles of the thousands of miners and their families before them.”

Find out more about visiting at www.nationalminingmuseum.com

 

Rosslyn Chapel (1 hour from New Lanark)

Rosslyn Chapel was founded in 1446 as a place of worship and services continue to be held here weekly. The Chapel has also been a popular destination for visitors for generations. By the late 18th-century, it was starting to appear on itineraries and its profile greatly increased after the publication of Dan Brown’s novel, The Da Vinci Code, in 2003, and the subsequent film. Rosslyn Chapel Trust was established in 1995 to care for the Chapel and oversee its conservation and public access.

Find out more about visiting at www.rosslynchapel.com

Rosslyn Chapel

Image Credit http://www.rosslynchapel.com/

 

Palace of Holyroodhouse ( 1 hour 15 minutes from New Lanark)

Visit The Palace of Holyroodhouse, Her Majesty The Queen’s official residence in Scotland. Standing at the end of Edinburgh’s historic Royal Mile, this fine palace is the home of Scottish royal history. At the Palace of Holyroodhouse, visitors can explore 14 magnificent historic and State Apartments, the romantic ruins of the 12th-century Holyrood Abbey and remarkable royal gardens, all with a complimentary audio tour. Best known as the home of Mary, Queen of Scots, the Palace was the setting for many dramatic episodes in her short reign. Today, the State Apartments are used regularly by The Queen for State ceremonies and official entertaining. The Queen’s Gallery at the Palace of Holyroodhouse hosts a programme of changing exhibitions from the Royal Collection.

Find out more about visiting here.

 

Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway (1 hour from New Lanark)

“Our heritage railway is only 40 minutes drive from Glasgow and Edinburgh. We are located in the historic town of Bo’ness. Friendly staff will welcome you aboard a heritage steam or diesel-hauled train and wish you a pleasant journey. The train travels along the shore of the Firth of Forth with views of the majestic Ochil Hills, before climbing a tree-lined gradient, passing woodland, wild flowers and waterfalls to the country station of Birkhill. Alight here to take a stroll in the ancient woodlands of the Avon Gorge.”

Find out more about visiting at www.www.bkrailway.co.uk

 

Dunadd Fort (suggested by our Facebook fan Samantha Grant)

Dunadd Fort rises proudly from Moine Mhor – the ‘great moss’ – an expanse of bog that carpets the southern end of Kilmartin Glen. It was home to a fort 2,000 years ago, and a royal power centre of Gaelic kings in the 500s to 800s AD. Below the mighty fort site are some extraordinary features carved into the rock, including two human footprint shapes – similar to a pair found at Clickimin Broch.

Find out more about visiting here.

 

Govan Stones (suggested by our Facebook fan Philip Pohler)

History buffs can discover the unique collection of early medieval stones carved in the 9th-11th centuries to commemorate the power of those who ruled the Kingdom of Strathclyde. One of Glasgow’s most important historical and cultural assets, explore the 31 monuments within the beautiful setting of Govan Old Church.

Find out more about visiting at www.thegovanstones.org.uk

Govan Stones

Image credit http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-18172678

 

We’ve definitely been inspired to get out and explore after reading about all of these amazing locations! You can find out more about visiting New Lanark here.

Melissa – New Lanark Marketing and PR Officer

0 likes no responses
31/10/16 Double Row Restoration Project # , , ,

1 Year of the New Lanark House History Project

1 Year of the New Lanark House History Project

Guest blog by Ruth Beattie, Head Researcher and Learning Officer…

In November 2015 I began a research project linked to the Townscape Heritage Project for the restoration of Double Row; the last derelict tenement at New Lanark to be restored.

Research would focus on the social history of the tenement, the families and past residents who lived there and of the history of people in the village. We chose the time period from 1900 to the 1970s for three reasons: it was the most recent time period in the building’s history, many past residents with memories of relatives and living their themselves had been identified and it was a time of great change in Scotland in terms of the world wars, the decline of industry, the modernisation of housing and of people’s lifestyles.

children-on-rosedale-street-c-1950s

Children on Rosedale Street c.1950s (Double Row)

When I began the project, I looked at the existing known New Lanark families living in Double Row from the early 1900s. Researching the village in the First World War had given me a good understanding of the family names, connections and their backgrounds. At this time in particular, many Irish weaving families had settled in New Lanark and were employed in the mills weaving nets and canvas for the Gourock Ropework Company.

Names such as Jess (of which there are around 5 separate families!), Harkness, Bones, Savage, Hawthorne, Leggatte, Lynas and Ashe among many others, came up time and again along with Scottish or long standing New Lanark names such as Mackin, MacPherson, Arnott, Kirkhope, Hay, Goddard, Dunlop, Romer, and Graham.

11-rosedale-st-c-1968

11 Rosedale Street c.1968 (Double Row) where Irish lady Susan Rocks lived.

Hugh Mackin with sister-in-law Susan Rocks at her flat 11 Rosedale Street (Double Row) in 1966

Hugh Mackin with his Aunt Susan Rocks at her flat 11 Rosedale Street (Double Row) in 1966

Then it was time to open the research to those people who had lived here, were born here, grew up here or simply remembered their relatives living here and held fond, happy memories of the village. The initial response was fantastic. We advertised in local Lanarkshire papers, on our website and social media and around our site. Many people got in touch with me from all over Britain and even as far as Canada! Through emails, phone calls and visits to our search-room we have pieced together the stories of the families recording memories and with documents and family photos. We now have 24 separate New Lanark family stories. Each family has a file containing a biography in progress, photos, documents and any interesting finds such as newspaper articles of the time or oral history interviews recorded in the 1980s.

The last resident to leave Double Row in the 1970s – Elizabeth Jess. Pictured with her grandson David Dunlop who was born there and lives in Lanark today. David has contributed immensely to the social history of the village.

The last resident to leave Double Row in the 1970s – Elizabeth Jess. Pictured with her grandson David Dunlop who was born there and lives in Lanark today. David has contributed immensely to the social history of the village.

 

Elizabeth with husband Joseph Henry Jess and son Thomas in September 1935.

Elizabeth with husband Joseph Henry Jess and son Thomas in September 1935.

 

chidren-in-snow-at-square-1950s-child-at-front-is-harry-jess

Harry Jess as a child at New Lanark (front with spade). Harry is the grandson of Elizabeth Jess and a cousin of David Dunlop. He also lives in Lanark today.

One of the most interesting stories to come out of the research was of the lost letter to Double Row resident Mary Savage, written in 1916 by a friend in County Antrim, Ireland after the family had moved to New Lanark. You can read more about this story on our blog post from June 2016 by our marketing intern Ronan Moore.

Sisters Margaret and Mary Savage who lived at 3 Double Row – the letter was written by Mary’s friend Annie Lynn from County Antrim, Ireland in 1916.

Sisters Margaret and Mary Savage who lived at 3 Double Row – the letter was written by Mary’s friend Annie Lynn from County Antrim, Ireland in 1916.

I would like to thank all the families who have been in touch for their amazing contribution and the volunteers helping with the research. As we move into the second phase* of the research project, we really couldn’t be in a better position with a wealth of interesting stories to build upon.

The Harkness family who lived at 9 Double Row.

The Harkness family who lived at 9 Double Row.

New Lanark is a special place and it means so very much to people whose families lived and worked here in the time of the mills. This has been perhaps the most moving aspect of the research and it is truly rewarding to be able to bring those family stories together. I hope that we can produce a legacy from the project to last and that would not have been possible without people’s memories of a past life, their enthusiasm and their sense of pride at having a connection to this historic village.

*Information about phase two of the project coming in early 2017.

Ruth Beattie, Head Researcher and Learning Officer, New Lanark Trust.

0 likes no responses
12/09/16 CAVLP # , , , , ,

Mapping the Past exhibition

Mapping the Past exhibition

This morning we went to see the newly opened ‘Mapping the Past’ exhibition at Lanark Library. The exhibition and guide explores the unique cartographic heritage of the Clyde and Avon Valley and a 2000 year history of mapping in Scotland, including connections to the Father of Modern Mapping, Carluke born Major-General William Roy and local sites of interest, such as the area’s trig pillars.

img_4028-large

The Mapping the Past exhibition and guide launch corresponds with the 80th birthday celebrations of the Trig Pillar this year. The first trig pillar was built by the Ordnance Survey in 1936. These pillars aided in the triangulation of Britain, which was vitally important to the creation of accurate maps of the country.  Around 6500 of these Trig Pillars were constructed, and from 1936 to 1962, OS surveyors gathered measurements to create a highly accurate map of Britain. Approximately 6000 of these still remain – two of which are in the Clyde and Avon Valley area at Black Hill and Milton Head.

The exhibition runs from Monday 12 – Friday 30 September at Lanark Library. It will be open Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 9:15am – 5pm, Tuesday 9:15 – 8pm, Friday 10am – 5pm and Saturday 9:15 – 5pm. The exhibition will be closed on Sundays.

To find out more about CAVLP Heritage projects and how you can get involved, visit www.clydeandavonvalley.org. You can contact the team at [email protected] or on 01555 663 430. Follow them on Facebook at www.facebook.com/CAVLPHeritage or on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/CAVLPHeritage to keep up to date with events and workshops.

0 likes no responses
19/08/16 CAVLP # , , , ,

Lanark Library to host Mapping the Past Exhibition and Guide Launch

Lanark Library to host Mapping the Past Exhibition and Guide Launch

Members of the public are invited to attend the FREE Mapping the Past pop-up exhibition and guide launch will take place on Monday 12 September, at Lanark Library.

The exhibition and guide explores the unique cartographic heritage of the Clyde and Avon Valley and a 2000 year history of mapping in Scotland, including connections to the Father of Modern Mapping, Carluke born Major-General William Roy and local sites of interest, such as the area’s trig pillars.

The exhibition, first displayed in Carluke earlier in the year, also showcases artwork created by local community groups, schools and Guide and Scout groups as part of the Mapping the Past Project. The project was undertaken by CAVLP Heritage, managed by Northlight Heritage and supported by Heritage Lottery Fund supported Clyde and Avon Valley Landscape Partnership (CAVLP) and Historic Environment Scotland.

“The creative maps are a wonderful addition to the more traditional elements of the exhibition,” explains Karen McCusker, CAVLP Heritage Project Officer. “We started the workshops by exploring the legacy of mapping survey techniques and the first Ordnance Survey maps that Major-General William Roy produced, before creating personalised and expressive maps based in the Clyde and Avon Valley.”

Visitors to the exhibition are encouraged to take home copies of the Mapping the Past Guide, which offers details about the mapping heritage of the Clyde and Avon Valley. The guide will be available as a digital trail from www.clydeandavonvalley.org/trails from September 12 onward.

“The guide includes three trails and is a great way for all to get out and explore the mapping heritage of the Clyde and Avon Valley,” says Gavin McGregor, Project Manager at Northlight Heritage. “It takes you on journeys between trig pillars, historic sites and even includes Alasdair Gray’s fantastic 1969 ‘Falls of Clyde’ mural at the Kirkfieldbank Tavern.”

The Mapping the Past exhibition and guide launch corresponds with the 80th birthday celebrations of the Trig Pillar this year. The first trig pillar was built by the Ordnance Survey in 1936. These pillars aided in the triangulation of Britain, which was vitally important to the creation of accurate maps of the country.  Around 6500 of these Trig Pillars were constructed, and from 1936 to 1962, OS surveyors gathered measurements to create a highly accurate map of Britain. Approximately 6000 of these still remain – two of which are in the Clyde and Avon Valley area at Black Hill and Milton Head.

The exhibition runs from Monday 12 – Friday 30 September at Lanark Library. It will be open Monday, Wednesday, Thursday 9:15am – 5pm, Tuesday 9:15 – 8pm, Friday 10am – 5pm and Saturday 9:15 – 5pm. The exhibition will be closed on Sundays.

The exhibition precedes the launch of the Local Landscape Heroes CAVLP Heritage project later in September. This volunteer led project will celebrate the artists, writers, designers, architects and ordinary people of the Clyde and Avon valley who shaped the landscape and cultural heritage that defines the area as we know it today.

To find out more about CAVLP Heritage projects and how you can get involved, visit www.clydeandavonvalley.org. You can contact the team at [email protected] or on 01555 663 430. Follow them on Facebook at www.facebook.com/CAVLPHeritage or on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/CAVLPHeritage to keep up to date with events and workshops.

0 likes no responses
25/07/16 New Lanark Search Room # , , , ,

Search Room Spotlight: Glass bottle of IRN BRU

Search Room Spotlight: Glass bottle of IRN BRU

This item was found on site during the restoration of New Lanark that began in the late 1970s. In comparing the design of bottles over the years it appears as though the date of the bottle is sometime during the late 1940s. The shape of the bottle was designed in the form of “BA BRU” who was featured in the long running cartoon strip that advertised the product, which began in 1930 until the early 1970s. Ba-Bru was inspired by the character of “Sabu” in Rudyard Kipling’s book “Sab: The Elephant Boy”.

Ba-bru-design 1948ba-bru

During the 1830s, Robert Barr started a family business of cork cutting in Falkirk. In 1857, Robert’s son, Robert decided to start selling aerated waters (soft drinks) out of Glasgow. During the nineteenth century, Scotland had problems with poor sanitation due to the industrial revolution. As a result, soft drinks became popular as they were guaranteed to be a safe, quality drink for people.

Iron Brew was officially launched in 1901 and featured Adam Brown on the design label, who was a famous highland athlete from Shotts. The production of Iron Brew stopped during the second war as it was not a designated “standard drink” and as a result of shortages of raw materials, production temporarily shut down. With their re-launch in 1947, the brand also changed their name due to emerging food labeling regulations enforced by the Government and since the beverage was neither brewed nor made of Iron, they changed their name to IRN BRU.

DSC_0150

Today, Scotland remains one of the only countries where IRN BRU is more popular than Coca Cola.

RESOURCES

http://www.agbarr.co.uk/about-us/our-history/bottle-gallery/

http://www.agbarr.co.uk/about-us/our-history/

 

Holly – New Lanark Archive Intern

0 likes no responses
06/07/16 Behind the scenes at New Lanark , New Lanark Search Room , New Lanark World Heritage Site # , , , , , ,

Search Room Spotlight: Keys from New Lanark

Search Room Spotlight: Keys from New Lanark

There are numerous keys in our collection that were found during the restoration of New Lanark that began in the late 1970s. The photo above depicts a selection of keys that originally belonged to former residents of the village.

At its peak in 1818, there were 2,500 employees at New Lanark. The majority of people who worked in the Mills, lived in the early tenement blocks built by New Lanark’s founder, David Dale, to accommodate his workers. These buildings, including Braxfield Row, Long Row, Double Row, Wee Row, Nursery Row, Caithness Row, Mantila Row & New Buildings provided housing for around 200 families. Each family had one room with a window – excellent conditions for the period!. A typical tenement room had two “set in” beds on the wall opposite the fireplace. These consisted of a sturdy wooden framework built into the wall and a mattress which was a bag made of ticking and stuffed with chaff or straw. To accommodate larger families, a “hurlie bed” was used which was a simple cot-like bed on wheels that was stored under the “set in” bed. Each of the beds were shared by three or more family members as most tenements housed entire families that ranged from 8 to 10 members.

Traditional Housing at New Lanark

Traditional Housing at New Lanark

As the population of New Lanark declined over time, so the layout of the houses changed. Families would take over two rooms, sometimes even three, doors would be blocked up, new ones opened and most importantly, the house numbers would change with these alterations. Hence trying to match a key to a house is not as easy a task as it may seem!

Following a 40+ year restoration programme, all but one of the tenement blocks have now been restored (an the restoration of the last is underway).Today, there are 45 tenancies and 20 owner-occupied houses at New Lanark with a population of roughly 150-200 people who live here permanently. Mantila Row was unfortunately demolished during the restoration period as the building was unsafe but the exteriors of the other buildings remain pretty much unchanged. The keys however have got much smaller!

 

RESEARCH RESOURCES:

The Story of New Lanark, World Heritage Site

Living in New Lanark, New Lanark Conversation Trust

Historic New Lanark, Ian Donnachie & George Hewitt

 

Holly – New Lanark Archive Intern

0 likes no responses
29/06/16 New Lanark Search Room # , , , ,

Search Room Spotlight: Sock Making Machine

Search Room Spotlight: Sock Making Machine

Since the New Lanark Conservation Trust was formed in 1974 we have acquired a number of objects either found during the restoration process or graciously donated by the public. Initially, we had no intention of creating a collection but have now managed to acquire a large collection of artefacts, books, archival documents, photographs, architectural drawings, and much more which are now all housed in the New Lanark Search Room. Each week, we will give you an up close and personal look at a featured item from our collection.

This week’s Search Room Spotlight: Sock Making Machine

knittingmachine

This object is known as a sock knitting machine or circular knitting machine. It was donated by a woman whose husband purchased it in the 1980’s whilst he was working for a knitwear company, Lorne Knitwear in Kilmarkock. The machine is made to be clamped to a table, much like a vice. The main body of the machine is comprised of cast iron with metal needles used to thread the yarn from the top of the device into the bottom, forming a tube. The threading process is made possible by a separate piece attached to the top of the machine that threads the yarn into the device using a variety of gears that move using a hand crank that runs around the exterior of the device (please click the link for a full demonstration).

The exact make of the machine is unknown as there is no patent or any other indication of a company name. The previous owner had mentioned the name “Groz-Beckert” which is a German company that opened in the 1850’s specializing in the manufacturing of various parts for knitting/weaving machines such as needles. Although this may be a possibility, we have yet to uncover evidence to support this theory.

Circular knitting machines have been around since the early 1800’s when a French inventor Marc Brunel challenged the traditional flatbed knitting machines by arranging needles into a circular form. Since this development, there have been many alterations and improvements; more notably, Henry Griswold who was an American inventor that patented his own knitting machine in 1873 while visiting France and Britain. Since its invention, there have been many improvements such as a second set of needles to enable rib knitting and the cuff or welt for socks.

Knitting machines were used for mass production in English workhouses. It was also not uncommon to find children often using these machines as they were very efficient and quite compact. During the First World War the Red Cross urged the Home Front to knit socks for soldiers in order to prevent Trench Foot and machines such as these became an important part in the war effort. According to the previous owner, she believed it was used to make Argyll socks as well as socks for bandsmen. As New Lanark was known for its high quality cotton, knitting machines such as this would have used similar material to produce socks during the mid to late 1880s up until the second World War and are still used today by knitting enthusiasts.

VIDEO OF SOCK MAKING: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVbPi0EAVoA 

RESEARCH:

https://sockmachine.wordpress.com/sock-machine-history/

http://www.sockknittingmachines.co.uk/about_machines.php

http://www.guild-mach-knit.org.uk/forms/history_part1.pdf

http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2011/11/the-technology-of-socks-in-a-time-of-war/248006/

 

You can find out more about the New Lanark Search Room, and becoming an Archive Volunteer on the New Lanark website.

Holly – New Lanark Archive Intern 

0 likes no responses
24/06/16 Behind the scenes at New Lanark , New Lanark Search Room # , , , , ,

Search Room Spotlight – Clogs

Search Room Spotlight – Clogs

Since the New Lanark Conservation Trust was formed in 1974 we have acquired a number of objects either found during the restoration process or graciously donated by the public. Initially, we had no intention of creating a collection but have now managed to acquire a large collection of artefacts, books, archival documents, photographs, architectural drawings, and much more which are now all housed in the New Lanark Search Room. Each week, we will give you an up close and personal look at a featured item from our collection.

This week’s Search Room Spotlight: Pair of Lanchasire-style clogs

Pair of Lanchasire-style clogs

Pair of Lanchasire-style clogs

The item pictured is one of three pairs of wooden clogs that were donated to New Lanark. The boots are incredibly heavy and durable, made of leather with wooden soles and metal plates on the bottom as well as in the toe. These wooden clogs are similar to the 19th century Lanchasire style clogs that originated in Lanchasire, England. The Industrial Revolution gave rise to the popularity of clogs being used by workers in the mills, mines, and factories as they required strong, cheap footwear that was easy to repair. Further research indicates that many weavers adopted the wooden clogs while working in the mills which leads us to believe that these wooden clogs could have very well been used by the weavers at New Lanark during the late 1800s and early 1900s.

Look out for next week’s Search Room Spotlight! You can find out more about the New Lanark Search Room on the New Lanark website.

Research links:

https://theeverydayclothingproject.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/clogs/

http://www.antiques-atlas.com/antique/pair_of_19thc_wood__leather_pitt_lancashire_clogs/as155a878

http://bytesdaily.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/clogs.html

Holly – New Lanark Archive Intern 

0 likes no responses
31/05/16 CAVLP # , , , , ,

Future of Chatelherault lies in its past

Future of Chatelherault lies in its past

Guest blog from the Clyde and Avon Valley Landscape Partnership…

A MASSIVE woodland management project is underway at Chatelherault Country Park.

Almost 20 hectares of non-native plantation conifers will be removed and native woodland regenerated, as well as the restoration of spectacular historical views and features.

The park, which is a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI), will remain open at all times during the work, although access from the western side will be disrupted from this month (May) until late September this year.

This work is being funded by South Lanarkshire Council and Heritage Lottery Fund supported Clyde and Avon Valley Landscape Partnership (CAVLP).

Detailed Forest and Conservation Management Plans are in place to guide the process with the trees removed from the west side of the gorge between the Cadzow oaks and the White Bridge. These were informed by two public consultations that took place last March.

Profits made from the sale of felled timber will be channelled back into much needed improvements to the parks footpath system. This will include replacing the White Bridge and restoring the paths linking to it.

Large machinery will be felling and moving timber throughout summer months and all visitors are asked to avoid the forestry operations for their own safety.

Signs will be placed at the affected paths and in the car parks and further information will be available in the visitor centre. Any areas where work is taking placed will be closed off to the public and clearly signed.

Chair of South Lanarkshire Council’s Community Services Committee, Councillor Hamish Stewart, said: “This work is absolutely essential to allow us to manage the woodland which makes up the spectacular setting that is Chatelherault Country Park.

“The park will of course remain open, the only difference will be some paths may not be accessible while the work is ongoing. Visitors should check the signage or go to the visitor area for more information.

“The tree felling will leave the area in question looking very sparse for the first couple of years, but we know from experience the native tree regeneration is very rapid in Chatelherault’s fertile woodland soils.

“In 2007 we felled a similar area of spruce and fir at Laverock Hill by Barncluith. After only four years the whole area was covered with young trees and after only six years the young woodland was alive with spring birdsong.

“We would ask visitors to be patient with us and understand that this work is essential to the restoration of this beautiful and historic landscape.”

CAVLP programme manager Donna Marshall said: “The regeneration of ancient woodland, which forms part of the Clyde Valley National Nature Reserve, will help reinforce the status of this part of woodland as a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI).

“The project at Chatelherault is one in a growing number of rewilding projects in the UK which look at expanding native habitats, increasing biodiversity and connecting communities with the nature on their doorsteps.”

The 5th Duke of Hamilton’s hunting lodge at Chatelherault was restored 27 years ago. Once a crumbling ruin, surrounded by an abandoned sand quarry, William Adam’s 18th century masterpiece is now visited by 250,000 people each year.

From the 1940s through to the late 1960’s the ancient natural woodland at Chatelherault was felled and much of the area was planted with fast growing conifers, hence the need for the woodland regeneration programme.

0 likes no responses
1 2 3

New Lanark World Heritage Site Aerial View

New Lanark is a beautifully restored 18th century cotton mill village in Scotland, and is one of Scotland's six UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

On our blog you'll find a behind-the-scenes look at all the latest news, events, stories and general 'goings-on' from New Lanark World Heritage Site.

We are always looking for guest bloggers to become involved with the blog. If you are interested in writing for us, please get in touch.

Join us online


Join our mailing list